What I’ve learned about Cake Smash sessions…

I’m just going to get right to it.  Ready?  Here it goes…

Babies are afraid of cake!

Shocked?

Going to my first cake smash session last fall, I had it all planned out perfectly in my head.  You put the cake down, sit the kid next to it, take a little dab of icing on their finger to let them taste it, then BAM!  It would be like a moth to a flame.  You would have to practically pry the kid off the cake just to get a few good shots of that big baby grin with chocolate cake stuck between their teeth.  Adorable, funny, and a whole lot of messy.

That wasn’t exactly how it went though.  After getting the cute clean “I’m one!” shots, it was time to start digging into the cake.  Cake goes down, baby gets sat next to it and almost instantaneously she squirmed as far away from the cake as she could get!  She wanted nothing to do with getting dirty and sticking her hands into that messy cake, regardless of how yummy it tasted.

This is her pushing herself away from the cake!

This is her pushing herself away from the cake!

"I don't know how I feel about this cake..."

“I don’t know how I feel about this cake…”

We finally had to whip out a fork and let her eat it with that.  We ended up having to fake the “mess” by cutting up the cake and putting pieces on the floor.  Eventually she warmed up to it and get a little messy, but nothing like I imagined!

"I'm a lady, I only eat cake with a fork!"

“I’m a lady, I only eat cake with a fork!”

Yum!

Yum!

About a month later I did another cake smash and this time it was for my own son.  My little baby was turning the big ‘1’ and I was ready for him to get nice and messy.  I thought “this kid will eat anything, he is going to LOVE this and it will be so cute!”  We put him next to his very simple, not at all intimidating cake and sure enough, he was terrified!  He actually started hysterically crying when we put the icing in his mouth!

"Why are you trying to torture me by making me eat such delicious looking cake!?"

“Why are you trying to torture me by making me eat such delicious looking cake!?”

Luckily with the help of Leo, our Dachshund, we were able to make my baby stop crying for long enough to get some cute photographs (after smearing cake on his face and putting a piece in his lap to “fake” the cake smash concept).

"Never mind, cake is FUN! (As long as I don't have to eat it!)"

“Never mind, cake is FUN! (As long as I don’t have to eat it!)”

"YAY CAKE!"

“YAY CAKE!”

In the end, both of the sessions resulted in some adorable photographs, but I am still in shock at their initial reactions to the cake!  Don’t say I didn’t warn you! 🙂

What have been your experiences with Cake Smash sessions?  Anyone have a kid that just LOVED every second of it?  Any that were so bad you couldn’t even get a good picture out of it?

I’d love to hear from you!

-Lauryn

Leave a Reply

